Life with an invisible illness

One cannot imagine the role that you have played in my life.

I wake up every morning not sure if you will appear.

Somedays just leaving the house and arrive somewhere on time is a victory.

The embarrassment that I have endured, just because you are a part of me.

Knocking on strangers doors to use their facilities.

The looks from strangers when I have to leave my kids in the car to run to the bathroom.

The calls into work, the time out from life.

The missed memories.

These are the things that you have given me.

There are others who continue to fight a daily struggle.

They cannot fight against you.

You have helped me realize that I am strong.

You have helped me understand that I can control my health.

In life everything happens for a reason and it is our job to determine what the lesson is to be learned, how we can grow from our experiences.

My invisible disease has taught me that moments in life are precious, that you have to listen to your body and slow down sometimes.

I have also learned that it doesn’t matter what others think of you, even if you shit your pants in public, it is just part of your story.

Screen Shot 2016-10-18 at 1.02.14 PM.png

Leave a Reply

