I have fought this battle for the last 10 years… time to try something a little new.

As many of you know I have Ulcerative Colitis, something that I regularly share with people, advocate for, and work to find a state of remission. Over the past 10 years my health has gone through various stages from deathly ill to feeling well. However, I have still had symptoms. Symptoms that have taken more time to leave the house in the morning, postpone trips with my children, and delay life in general. My husband gave me an assignment recently, he told me to find balance, and to find a hobby. As our children are getting older and are less reliant on my minute to minute care I am finding more time to dedicate to myself. As I continue to think about the past 10 years I realize that I have worked nonstop, dedicated myself to being a supportive mother, wife, and teacher. Have spent countless hours wondering what I could do to further heal my body, and hundreds of hours spent living with the symptoms of my disease.

I know that I feel ‘better’ eating Paleo; however still had some symptoms. I began doing research on the AutoImmune Paleo Protocol and have read quite a few research studies showing that people with an autoimmune disease, such as Ulcerative Colitis have found a state of full remission following this protocol. This process is a strict 3 month dietary change to help the body heal from years of battling disease and working towards creating a stable sense of non-inflammation state. The more I read the more I feel optimistic that I could potentially become completely symptom free, and begin to find a place of balance within my life, and health.

Screen Shot 2015-04-07 at 9.14.09 AM

I am going to use this blog as a diary to follow the next 90 days, to see how I am feeling, and how my body is reacting. I am going to focus on balanced exercise, as suggested by the book The Paleo Approach, which outlined research and data aligned with the implementation of a protocol to end inflammation and the immune response.

The best part my husband said that we should just go all the way as a family, he feels that this will improve the quality of all of our lives, and I completely agree.

Leave a Reply

