How do you do Paleo with a family?

I am often asked how we do this Paleo thing with a family, and on a budget. Well here is sneak peek into the planning that goes into prepping for a week of lunches, and dinners for a family of 4. I am fortunate that for the most part my boys, Zandyr age 7 and Ayden age 5, eat what my husband and I cook. Sometimes we are faced with the phrase “I don’t like this” before a bite has even been attempted but for the most part they are pretty easy to please.

On a week where I am diligent about sticking to Paleo and making sure that my children, husband, and I are eating well and clean I start the weekend off browsing through some of my favorite resources. I admit that I utilize the internet machine the most, then my nomnom paleo app, the book Eat Like a Dinosaur, and past recipes.

Browsing through the internet machine, nomnom paleo app.

Browsing through the internet machine, nomnom paleo app.

In order to conserve and make sure that you are not spending more than you need, go through the cabinets, fridge, and produce drawer to see what you can use this next week for cooking. Utilizing all of your ‘left overs’ as well.

I write out the week and start putting in the meat dishes that I can make with what is already in the fridge and then work to fill in the open spaces with new recipes and adding ingredients to the grocery list as I go.

Make sure to stick to your list, and your menu. You have the whole week carefully planned out and if you stick to it you won’t find yourself running to the grocery store for additional items, which can add up.

Listing out menu items that can be fulfilled with ingredients already in the fridge first, then start adding to the grocery list

Listing out menu items that can be fulfilled with ingredients already in the fridge first, then start adding to the grocery list

 

After filling in the menu for the week add the ingredients that you need. MAKE sure to stick to your list!

After filling in the menu for the week add the ingredients that you need. MAKE sure to stick to your list!

I try not to have to drive to Costco, because the  45 minute drive just to deal with the crazies at Costco is really hard to convince myself to do; however, on weeks where I know the budget is going to be tight you can easily get enough meat and veggies to sustain for the week for less than going to the local grocery store (At least on Maui). The farmers market is ideal; but again takes too much time, I am big on opportunity cost when it comes to the use of my time.

Hope this helps!! I am more than willing to help if anyone needs additional help. For the lunches, even though school is out, the boys will be at day camp and my husband and I will be busy so it is best to pack lunches in the morning regardless, also helps staying on target if everything is planned and prepared! The only things that I don’t list in the menu is our snacks, which for the morning is usually nuts and fruit, and afternoon veggies and nuts or tail mix…

Leave a Reply

