Paleo pepper poppers

I recently tried a Paleo ‘pepper popper’ recipe that I found online and it was good, but I knew that I could make it a little bit better, that is always the challenge I give myself.

So because I wanted something that was a bit simple to eat and easy to prep before crossfit I decided that tonight would be the Pepper Popper night.

Ingredients

Jalapeno’s or Small Sweet Peppers (my kids eat the sweet peppers)

goat cheese

bacon

What do you have to do…

Pre heat the oven to 400 and put 4 or 5 slices of bacon in a pan or on the griddle while you prep the peppers, don’t cook the bacon all the way, just a little bit to help crisp it up when you bake it in the oven.

Slice and de seed the peppers and place them on a cookie sheet.

Then using a small spoon ‘fill’ the peppers with goat cheese.

Slice the bacon into strips, I try to get 4 smaller slices from one larger slice.

Then wrap the slices around the stuffed peppers. My first mistake was not letting the bacon cool enough before attempting this…let it cool!! And remember not to cook too long, you want it to be flexible after it cools a little.

Then put the stuffed bacon wrapped peppers in the 400 degree oven for 15 minutes, you can broil for the last 2 minutes if you want the bacon to be extra crispy!

Warning: These are irresistible, you really can’t just eat one! I made a whole costco sized bag of the mini sweet peppers and we have enough for lunch for at least 2 days!

This is what the peppers look like sliced and deseeded.

This is what the peppers look like all prepped!Stuffing with goat cheese

Bacon wrapped goodness!

 

Leave a Reply

