Bacon, Apple, Goat Cheese Paleo Crepes

This morning I was in the mood for something different than our traditional bacon and eggs. At first I wanted to just make some Paleo pancakes and then make my favorite bacon and egg pancake sandwich…but I was a little inspired by Hells Kitchen and decided to try a Paleo Crepe. The process was easy; however, I would not receive high marks for presentation I thought that they tasted AMAZING!! It may take a little more practice to get the crepe to turn out correctly, was having a hard time flipping them in my pan.

Ingredients for Crepe:

3 eggs

1/2 cup coconut milk

2 heaping tbs coconut flour

1 tbs honey

blend together then pour about 1/4 cup of the mix into medium hot pan, circle batter around the pan and apparently when the edges roll up it is time to flip, this is where a skilled chef might have more ease than my culinary skills aloud. 

For the filling this morning, which I thought tasted amazing; Tyrel apparently not a huge fan of goat cheese and apples, but then again he doesn’t really like cooked apples but I try to persuade him whenever I can.

Ingredients for Filling:

2 apples, peeled, cored, and diced

4 strips of bacon diced

4 tbs goat cheese, crumbled

1 tbs cloves

1 tbs cinnamon

1 tbs nutmeg

1/2 tbs salt

previous to cooking the crepes put the bacon in the pan, then add the apples, and then add the spices. Cook until the apples are soft and the bacon is a little crispy. I then set it aside in a bowl and used the same pan to cook my crepes, this may have been part of my issue, but it soaked up the good flavor. 

As the crepe was cooking I added the apple/bacon mixture then ‘sprinkled’ the crumbled goat cheese on top. Since I was having technical difficulties I simply folded the crepe edges over the filling and was done. 

This crepe had a great combination of sweet and tart. I loved it and will make it again soon!

Let me know what you think if you make it, and if you were able to flip your crepe:)

 

Leave a Reply

